This happens only in INDIA

5 Jun

Yesterday, I thought was just another mundane day. The same old job, the same people, and the same work. Little did I know I was going to be a witness to a mind numbing incident.

 I left at 5.30 from work yesterday, frustrated doing and redoing the same code a zillion times. As I was getting into my bus, I thought “Why is my life so boring, and regular? I want to do something exciting” I never thought god would fulfill my wish in such a dramatic and scary way.

Well the bus moved on as usual, and I tuned into a Radio station, with the RJ as usual bickering about unimportant stuff. The usual traffic, pollution and honking going on in the background, didn’t bother me at all. I’m seasoned to Mumbai now. Just then a shiny white car passed by and caught my attention.

“Wow” I thought, “What a Car Man!! I wish I had one, so I could turn on the AC listen to Hotel California and go home in peace without one drop of sweat on my forehead”

As I was fantasizing about my “chauffeur driven dreams” I heard a horn blazing. It was the same dream car. Only difference was the windows were rolled down, and a fat burly man was shouting something incoherent near the window that I was sitting by.

For a second I did not understand what was going on. Then the driver of our bus started shouting too. That’s when I realized both men were shouting obscenities at each other.

“Ah! Men” I said to myself. “They never leave a chance to shout and insult each other do they?”

It had so happened that at the turning the big shiny car driver had cut through the wrong side of the bus and might have lost a little bit of control as our poor unsuspecting driver could not know there was a car on the wrong side.

Now I think  a ground rule here in India is that if u have a white shiny car and a bus, it’s always the bus drivers fault. I thought it was over when both drivers were done shouting obscenities. But no, this shiny car driver almost in Hollywood style swerved his car and brought it at a halt right in front of our bus, screeching tires and all in play here.

Four huge men got down and tried to pull the driver down from the window. Suddenly one of them hit a large wooden stick at the door. The drivers head got saved. Since they could not get the driver out, all of them barged in, the one with the huge stick too. They started beating up our driver black and blue. Dragged him out of the bus and started hitting him with the stick.

Luckily the driver escaped and ran through the bushes near the road, to safety.

I was scared out of my wits and for a minute could not believe what just happened was true. It looked like a typical Bollywood scene where some goonda’s come to beat up an innocent man for no fault of his.

The only smart thing I could do was note down the license plate number of the car and gave it to the security head of our company explaining him the whole incident.

It turns out that it was the car of a politician’s PA, and that lodging a complaint would be fruitless. Luckily the head of security knows this politician personally and will go to his place today. But I don’t think anything at all will be done in this matter, after today.

So in India if you are not a politician or a part of a Bhai Gang (Which is the same anyways) you can beat up innocent people in the middle of the road, take law in your hands and manage to get away with it.

So although the physical pain will go, only thing hurt and bruised that will remain is the bus drivers’ pride and self respect.

13 Responses to “This happens only in INDIA”

  1. Jason June 5, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    hmm…the sad part is that your presence of mind wont do any good in cases like these…
    this explains a majority of elected representaatives in our parliament have a criminal background. It is not the fault of the ‘goondas’ and obviously not the bus driver but the junta in general which has been responsible in creating this category of people in our society…

  2. adi June 5, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    Welcome to the jungle, babe!
    well thats India for u, land of vast promise – yet a plethora of contradictions, all in one.

  3. Aniket June 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm #

    Very sad indeed…. and yet so common. Have witnessed a couple of such incidents myself.

  4. SiD June 5, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Haa…feels like killing such people? no….i just wish before I die I kill one such rogue and before killing i wanna see fear in his eyes…fear of death, fear of losing his power!!!

  5. SiD June 6, 2009 at 12:36 am #

    Something on the same lines I posted yesterday, you might b interested.

    http://sidoscope.blogspot.com/2009/06/improper-driving.html

  6. gughanx June 6, 2009 at 2:46 am #

    You last para rings some painful truth! The injustice of it! The driver has no choice but to just live with this. Hope that he doesn’t take it out on someone else.

    And Jason is true (again painfully so) when he points out that presence of mind counts for nothing in this case.

  7. Amrita June 8, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    @Jason: What u said is completely true. But even though I want to exercise my right to vote, and want a good candidate to vote for, its always a case of choosing a less bad candidate among all bad ones. So what choice do we have?

    @Adi: Yes it’s all a jungle, and it’s the survival of the richest in most cases.

    @Aniket: It’s sad, but true. 😦

    @Sid: Chill, if you go about killing ppl like dat…. u will be no different from them. But ya being a silent witness to injustice also hurts.

    @gughanx: I too hope he does not take it out on someone else. Have you seen Mumbai Meri Jaan? There’s a scene where Paresh Rawal explains a chain reaction. If one person hits another person and he in turn hits the third. So this goes on endlessly leading ppl to kill other innocent ppl with bombs and guns. Instead if the first person would have said sorry or not hit someone else, the chain would never have started.

    @All: Thanks a lot for the comments.

  8. SiD June 9, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    @Amrita
    Sacchi meri koi galti na thi…
    😦

    she came in between…and yes i agree 2 ur point…injustice hurts…

  9. Preeti Shenoy June 10, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    So were in the company bus or BEST?
    True about India. Here it is so different and so civilized.
    Cheers
    preeti

    • Amrita June 11, 2009 at 10:01 am #

      Hi Preeti,

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog. And thanks for commenting.

      Also, i was in my company bus. BEST Bus drivers never get beaten up, even if they kill somebody. But that’s a different story altogether. I can write another post on it 😉

      Keep visiting, and thanks again. 🙂

  10. anilisanil3 June 15, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    This is sad. I somehow do not want to associate this to India, such incidents are as common to India as they are else where too. May be the persons involved may differ from place to place. Hope sense prevails!

  11. Rush June 17, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    a very usual bus ride..its always the bus drivers fault..nice post!!

  12. Preeti Shenoy June 17, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    🙂 My pleasure.
    U are very right about BEST drivers which was why i asked.
    I have tagged you in my latest post. if you do it I’d love to read.
    Cheers
    preeti

Leave a Reply

