Of Novels and Movies

16 May

 I am an avid reader of fiction novels. (Nothing amazing about that I know) Its like I cant sleep without reading something, and my Mom is the one to be completely blamed for this 😉 . Well actually I’m thankful to her, coz she was the one to introduce me to this wonderful and enchanting world of books. These books transport you to a world which is hitherto unknown to you, and I have always marveled at the skill that writers have to describe each and every thing in a book with such great detail that you can actually feel and see it.

 But I have always had a slight grudge against people who make movies out of novels. I mean it is always so convenient, pick up a novel, give the writer loads of money and make a movie out of it. Just saves the producer all the work that goes into actually thinking about the story, writing a script etc. It’s all virtually served in a platter in the form of a novel.

 The most recent transition I’ve seen of a novel to a movie as Twilight. I generally don’t read love stories for the simple fact that they are unbelievably surreal. But Twilight was different, although being a vampire story, I could still connect with the character of Bella Swan. Seeing the movie was like a slap on the face of my imagination. None of the characters could do justice to what Stephanie Meyer has portrayed them to be, especially the main characters Bella and Edward Cullen. The book is written in first person from Bella’s perspective, and the movie has cut out so many vital aspects of Bella’s emotions that a person who has not read the book would find it absolutely boring.

 Another disappointment was The Da Vinci Code. Yes lots of people appreciated the movie, but I’m sure very few of them would have read the book. Because the book is much more fast paced than the movie, and they had to actually skip important parts from the book, so as to cram it in 2 to 3 hours. Also Tom Hanks could not be imagined as Robert Langdon, as is the opinion of Aditi my very good friend.

 The only movie that did any amount of justice to its book was Godfather, and people who have read the book and seen the movie would be nodding in approval right now 😉

 So I just feel making movies out of novels should be banned or something, even in India ( remember Hello aka One night at the Call center, and ya 3 Idiots on Five point someone, I’m so not looking forward to it 😉  )

 What do ya think ppl?????

7 Responses to “Of Novels and Movies”

  1. unknowntheartist May 16, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I agree that Twilight was nothing like it could have been on film. I’m also one fo those people who, although in my mind I want to see a film based on my fave book, if it actually comes to fruition, I know it’ll suck. Da Vinci Code was another I disliked but mostl because Angels & Demons should have come first and secondly, because did you read about Robert Langdon and automatically think, hey Tom Hanks? yep, me neither…

  2. Aniket May 16, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    I agree that Da Vinci code was awful as a movie compared to the book, so was Inkheart, so is the Harry Potter series, and the list goes on.

    But then again there are those who pulled of a great job translating to movie.
    As you mentioned Godfather is an epic movie like the novel. Though some might disagree but I believe Peter Jackson did an amazing job with The Lord of the Rings. I know many facts and all were cut but still I loved the way he made the movies a LOT! Another example is “To kill a Mocking Bird” superb novel and a superb movie too. The Motorcycle Diaries, 300, V for Vendetta, My Sassy Girl were great too.

    So all in all… It all comes down to who is making the movie and how he is making it?
    And there are many who prefer a movie over a novel. Many writers want to reach out to as many people as they can with their story. So I don’t think making a movie on it is a bad idea. But they should ensure the essence of the story is not twisted by the film makers.

  3. ADi May 18, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Ive written something like this some time back…
    talk about matching frequencies

    n hey by thw way…
    Happy birthday gal!

  4. ADi May 18, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Ive written something like this some time back…
    talk about matching frequencies

    n hey by the way…
    Happy birthday gal!

  5. Varun Shridhar May 27, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    I think it doesn’t work out that well on the big screen because a person’s imagination would often give a picture very different on the screen than the one visualised while reading. that spoils all the charm I guess.
    Nice post

  6. Amrita May 28, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    @unknowntheartist: Thanks for visiting and for the comments 🙂

    @Aniket: yes i do agree that writers want to reach out to a wider range of people and it all depends on who makes the movie and how they make it. But what is disappointing to see is that more often than not it does not turn out well. Anyway thanks for the comments 🙂

    @Adi: Yeah i know u’ve written that in your blog, and this post has been waiting to come out of my mind onto this blog for a loooooong time now, so that’s why….. And ya matching frequencies…… i could write a book about that ;). Thanks for the wishes 🙂

    @Varun: Thanks for the comments. I’m happy that some people do agree with what i have to say. 🙂

  7. Sameer June 18, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    I voted for “it depends”. There have been cases where both the book and the movie were equally well recieved. Examples, Guide (The Guide), Maqbool (MacBeth), Omkara (Othello), Malgudi Days (Malgudi Days), Discovery if India (Discovery if India) (okay these were TV series, but should count).

Leave a Reply

