Happy Birthday Pappa

15 May

It’s my papa’s birthday today and I have been pondering for days about what to gift him. The fact is no gift is good enough for dad. Flowers die, cards and gifts are forgotten, I already gave him a mobile last year. So now what? I don’t think there is anything in the world which can convey what dad means to me. Shirts, mobiles, tie’s none of these can carry the emotions and the gratitude I feel for my daddy.

 So I decided no gifts this year, but just a small attempt at writing a poem for Pappa. Hope it turns out well. This one’s for you pappa……

 Daddy’s Girl

 When I was little, you made me sit next to you,
I would playfully put shaving foam all over your shirt,
You never complained, but joined in the fun.

 You taught me how to be brave and face the pain,
When I fell down,, you taught me how to get up
and ride the bike again.

 You never said I had to come first in class,
Coz it didn’t matter
as long as I passed.

I fell sick the moment you went for business for some days,
The fever vanished,
as soon as I saw your smiling face.

You taught me all about cricket,
You taught me the difference between leg stump and off stump,
You taught me to be optimistic, till the last ball.

You taught me how to be honest in everything I do,
That has helped me be successful in what I do.

You taught me to be independent,
You let me fly to heights I wanted,
You never asked for anything in return.

 You taught me to be strong always whenever a problem arose,
You taught me to be confident,
You taught me how to face the world.

But somewhere deep down I know,
I will never be grown up enough for you,
Coz I’ll always remain Daddy’s little Girl……

 I love you Pappa

 Happy Birthday……..

P.S: It does not rhyme I know, but I hope its a good start for a first timer….. 🙂

9 Responses to “Happy Birthday Pappa”

  1. Jason May 15, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    that is soooo sweet…i love it…

  2. Aniket May 15, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    That’s very touching. I’m sure you are going to bring him tears (the good ones) when he reads it.

    Wishing him a very Happy Birthday.

  3. ADi May 15, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    heyy

    Very touching.. really.
    See, knowing dads all you’re gonna get from him is a grunt “Hmm” or something like that 😉
    but good work gurl!

  4. your mom May 16, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    Very touching my dear little mithu

    i cried by reading your very nice poem and dont think that u dont know
    to write poem it is fantastic. By reading your touching poem i now think
    that my small little daughter has grown up and try to write poem again and
    again u will improve a lot. Never think that u dont know to write poem
    “practice makes man perfect” papa has also read yr poem he will reply
    u soon or as u know he talk to u on phone.

    love…………………. mom

  5. *KHUSHI* May 22, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    awww u make me cry, now I am missing my dad 😦 you touched my heart with dis poem.. wht else I say.. Awesome poem..with the touch of emotions n love

    • Amrita May 22, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

      Hi Khushi,

      Thanks a lot for the comments, i’m happy that my poem could touch your heart…. 🙂

  6. Dips May 25, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    HI sweet lil sis!!!!!!!
    Wow wat a poem yaar nd never mind abt the rhyme its so sweet i cried yaar!

    U r very good at writing i really miss all three of u wish i was there nd keep it up am proud of u.

  7. Phalguni March 8, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Lovely poem..am reading after 2 yrs ..Did not know about your hidden talent..Good luck dear

    • Amrita March 8, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks a lot Bhabhi…

      Hope you keep coming back here … 🙂

Leave a Reply

